Tutorial: Garden Party Skirt

17 Jan

Materials:

  • White Cotton Fabric
  • Fabric Paint
  • Tulle (in coordinating colors to paint choices)
  • Wide Elastic
  • Fray Check
  • Paintbrush
  • Skirt (that fits your little party-goer well)
  • Paper or Fabric (for tracing pattern)
  • Small Circular Object

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 1: Fold main fabric in half; fold skirt in half. Match up at the fold and trace, allowing room for seam allowance and waistband. Cut. Repeat for the back of the skirt.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 2: Trace out your scalloped edge onto your pattern paper.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 3: Cut out pattern.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 4: Trace pattern onto white fabric for as many rows as you need to cover your skirt. In my case it was 4. Cut.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 5: Paint strips. My goal was to have a fade effect between this step and the tulle overlay; I painted it on thicker at the bottom and then brushed the remaining paint  up to create the fade. Allow to dry.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 6: Cut tulle the length of your scalloped strips. I used the rolls of tulle and it worked out perfect for my width.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 7: Double tulle by folding over. Pin to fabric. Trim around scalloped edges. Repeat for all colors. Apply Fray Check to all scalloped edges.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 8: Pin bottom strip to front of skirt. Sew all four layers together (skirt front, scallop, tulle, tulle). I used two rows of straight stitches at this step, about 1/4 apart.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 9: Trim excess fabric above stitch line. After I did this I used another stitch (you could use a zig zag) to go over the top edge of my scalloped piece.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 10: Repeat for all strips. Your top layer should be close enough to the top of the skirt that once you create your waistband the stitches for that one will be covered up.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 11: Pin front and back of skirt right sides together. Sew. Trim edges, finish seams (serger/zigzag).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 12: Create waistband based on the width of your elastic. I did this by pressing about 1/4 inch down from the top edge. I then folded again covering my top seam and allowing room for my elastic. I sewed around the waistband leaving an opening for my elastic.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 13: Insert elastic and close your open seam in waistband. Hem bottom edge or apply Fray Check .

7 Responses to “Tutorial: Garden Party Skirt”

  1. Weezy {Hearts} Baby January 17, 2011 at 8:45 am #

    Thank you so much for sharing your tutorial! When I saw the skirt on Shwin & Shwin I really wanted to find out who made it and if they were going to post any more photos. The scallops are gorgeous, I’d love to incorporate them into a skirt for myself 🙂

  2. Jenn January 17, 2011 at 9:54 am #

    Very nice! I love the painting.

  3. Bree Cantu January 17, 2011 at 11:01 pm #

    Yours was my favorite! Even more than my own!! I told my husband if I didn’t have to vote for myself, I totally would vote for this one! Everything about it was gorgeous, thanks for the tute!

    • LC January 17, 2011 at 11:14 pm #

      Thanks so much!! That means the world!

  4. Taylor January 18, 2011 at 4:39 pm #

    LOVE THIS! I saw it over on Shwin and Shwin and thought it was so gorgeous! Thanks for posting the tutorial!

    Also, I might have missed it but did you do anything to the scallops to keep it from fraying?

    • LC January 18, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

      Taylor – thanks so much! Although I think the paint seemed to help with the fraying I did apply fray check to all of the scalloped edges. If you whip one up I would love to see! LC

  5. Stacy January 19, 2011 at 10:20 am #

    Totally impressed with the garden party skirt!! Can’t wait to see what your creative mind comes up with next!

Leave a Reply

