Bringing it to the Table

17 Apr

About the time we started working on the house we also started looking for a dining room table that would fit our dining area and our future needs. We looked everywhere. Furniture stores, big box retailers, antique dealers, and Craigslist. All of this searching was for not until we ran across one that not only looked like what I wanted but really left us with nothing to lose. It wasn’t quite free, but, for a table, a hutch, 2 table leaves, and 6 chairs it was pretty close ringing in at $50 out the door.

Now when I say its what I wanted I mean it had good bones; as you can see below it wasn’t quite the style I had in mind for my casa’s decor.

One nice fall weekend the plan went into motion and the chairs got sanded and primed. Unfortunately, that nice fall weekend was followed by a never ending winter and the chairs got moved to the basement. Months later I got re-motivated and the chairs were finally finished with three coats of paint and a poly coating. Nothing at the fabric store  fit my vision for what I wanted for the seats but I knew Target had a few lines out that were exactly the color palettes I was going for. Upon strolling up and down a few aisles the perfect fabric appeared… in the form of a shower curtain. Ta-da!

Leave a Reply

